Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

2013 Patrick R. Locco Scholarship Award Winners, Nominees to be Honored at April 25 Ceremony

press-release | Comments Off on 2013 Patrick R. Locco Scholarship Award Winners, Nominees to be Honored at April 25 Ceremony

ERIE — The Manufacturer & Business Association will honor the academic and technical accomplishments of 19 area high school students — nominees and winners of the 2013 Patrick R. Locco Scholarship Awards — during a luncheon ceremony starting at noon Thursday, April 25 at the Association’s Conference Center, 2171 West 38th Street in Erie. All media are invited to attend.

Nominees include: Matthew Washburn, Todd Goss, Vitaliy Koblyuk, Jesse Bean and Anthony Visalle, of Erie County Technical School; Eric Brocious, Adam Riddle, Charlotte Roxberry and Carley Unger, of Crawford County Career & Technical Center; Ashley Johnson, and Zachary Rushwin, of Mercer County Career Center; Garrett Shields, Stephanie Puckly Justin Messenger, Evan Melnichak and Jeremy Palmer, of Corry Area Career & Technical Center; and Joshua Bowersox, Austin Walls and Onjane Goodwin, of Central Career and Technical School.

The 2013 scholarship winners will be formally announced at the April 25 luncheon.

“We’re honored to recognize these students and their achievements in scholastic and technical skills acquisition, and to assist them in their future academic endeavors,” said John Cline, chairman of the Association’s Board of Governors and president and CEO of Sunburst Electronics. “Technical education is vital to our regional manufacturers and the economic welfare of our community as a whole.”

Scholarship winners will each receive $1,000 to apply toward their advanced education, and their names will be inscribed on an honorary plaque prominently displayed at their respective high schools. Other awards also will be presented to the nominees at the luncheon.

The Locco Awards were created by the Association to recognize outstanding high school students who distinguish themselves in pursuit of technical and academic excellence. Students must apply and be nominated by a teacher to be considered. Each school narrows the nominees to their top five candidates. These students are then interviewed by local businesspeople who choose the winners.